top of page

Mikylvxka Hllupo
Composed by Nicholas Bentz, Text by Robert Feng

For Bass Voice and Pierrot Ensemble

Mikylvxka Hllupo (2017) monodrama for bass voice and Pierrot Ensemble with music by Nick Bentz and text by Robert Ellsworth Feng. 

"The text follows an unnamed speaker’s hallucinatory journey through its crests and troughs, reaching ecstatic highs and ultimately a sublimely horrifying descent into the dark plains of the human un-conscience as they come face to face with an incomprehensible terror.


The piece travels along this mental odyssey as the speaker unravels their consciousness and is exposed to rapturously illuminating beings, but then is led to a cataclysmic realm of unheralded dismay and unadulterated monstrosities . . . 


Mixing [inspirations from H.P. Lovecraft’s various works and Nobuhiko Obayashi’s House] with Robert’s original text yields what I hope is a piece steeped in a sense of contrasting euphoria and horror, meaning and non-meaning, and the sublime." - Nicholas Bentz

To contact the composer, please visit

Painting by Robert Ellsworth Feng

Premiere: November 2017 at Peabody Conservatory

Length: 15 Minutes

Premiere Ensemble:

Robert Ellsworth Feng, bass

Lily Josefsberg, flute

Andrew Im, clarinet

Shannon Fitzhenry, violin

Kahler Suzuki, cello

Aaron Thacker, piano

Alan Buxbaum, conductor

"I am nothing
I am the universe
I am the spiral"

bottom of page